First Quarter Favourites

The month of April has arrived, and I am so excited… not only because I turn 21 in two days, nudge wink.

But as I round up the last 3 months, I’ll be honest with you. These last few months of the new year have been terrible because I only recently noticed just how many beauty/makeup related items I have purchased. That definitely needs to change.

On a positive note for you guys, this means that I did have more opportunities to try out some new goodies.

My FIRST QUARTER FAVOURITES, my first favourites post for 2018 has a bit of everything, some drugstore to a tab bit more pricey items. I have even ventured out a little more, sharing with you guys some of my current favourite series and music obsessions.

Here are my FIRST QUARTER FAVOURITES!

SAM_3763.jpg

  • FREEDOM MAKEUP PRO BLUSH PALETTE

When I first saw local YouTuber Daniela de Azevedo try out some products from Freedom Makeup (her video) I was quite interested because I have heard about the brand prior to this. But when Dani shared that the products were also available from Jet Stores I was pretty much sold.

This product in particular, the Pro Blush palette has been a staple in my routine since the day of purchase. This palette has 8 pans filled with a lovely matte bronzer, some baked bronzers, baked blushes and baked highlighters. Some of the baked highlighters do look quite shimmery but once you apply and blend them in, they are pretty much to die for.

For the quality and amount of product I am receiving, I consider this quite affordable at under R150.

There are also different variations of this palette so not to worry, if you don’t like this specific one, be sure to check out the others here. I definitely recommend giving this beauty a try.

  • WET N WILD PHOTO FOCUS FOUNDATION

After hearing so many raving reviews about this foundation, of course I had to give it a try. And best believe I was not disappointed!

Long wearing and light-weight are just some of the characteristics I found in this foundation. With a more medium to full coverage I would consider it as being my skin, but better, as Wet n Wild would put it. It performs better than some of my more expensive foundations.

This specific shade does have a slight pink undertone when I first apply it but I find that once I have finished my make-up routine it has oxidized and settled, making it look flawless.

When it comes to this foundation, I have to mention how terrible the shade availability is in South Africa. I have voiced my opinion on this because it is something I do not understand. It is an amazing foundation available in 20 shades but so many medium to deep skin tones in South Africa are being overlooked.

  • LUSH COSMETICS FRESH FACE MASK

SAM_3780.jpg

We have all established that I am a sucker for face masks, it is probably where I am my most adventurous. On a visit to LUSH I was looking for something new to try and the scent of thi face mask is what immediately drew me to it.

After a short demonstration by the sales consultant and finding out the base ingredient was ‘chocolate heaven’, I was quite keen on giving it a go. Sure enough I ended up using the mask 3 times a week for around 2-3 weeks.

It helps cleanse my skin and I found that it kept my oils at bay after the continuous use(I do have combination skin but it can get more oily around the summer time). I do get my normal acne stages but I found that they did not last as long as the normally would.

Also another positive: this specific mask has to be kept in the fridge so when you apply it with some water, it is so cooling and relaxing.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this mask, especially if you have oily skin because if my combination skin was oil free after 1 or 2 applications, I could just imagine what it would do for you.

  • COLOUR POP YES PLEASE EYESHADOW PALETTE

SAM_3775.jpg

I think this is my new favourite eyeshadow palette out of my entire collection. Yes, it now sits right up there with my BH Cosmetics Shaaanxo Palette so that is saying a lot.

I tried out this palette for the first time on my channel and my reactions do not do it justice. For my first Colour Pop palette I was completely blown away!

It is super pigmented, easy to blend and the shimmers are more that just playing their part, they are practically holding it down for the entire palette.

I have found myself reaching for more warm tones these past few months, so this palette was right up my alley! The packaging is quite sleek and compact. I will say that I did think that the palette would be slightly bigger.

I did purchase this palette from a third-party re-seller, but I do think next time I would prefer to save and just buy it right from Colourpop.

Living!

  • BONUS: (NON-BEAUTY OBSSESIONS)

For MUSIC, I have been trying to get more out of my comfort zone. One effective way that has helped is the fact that I asked my friends and family to make their own playlists on my phone. So not only do they have their own playlist ready when we are in the car, but I also get to venture out some more with my music library.

My currents favourites are:

H. E. R. – H. E. R. (Album)

Bazzi – Honest

Diplo – California EP

The Neighbourhood – The Neighbourhood (Album)

TV SERIES on the other hand, I have pretty much been bingeing left and right with every break from university and work that I get.

My current binge-favourites are:

Shadow Hunters – way better than the movie and there are quite a few seasons for you to catch up on. I have been following this series from the beginning.

Kingdom – Also, quite a few seasons to catch up on, I am currently mid-way through season 2.

 

Please let me know if you guys would like to add more non-beauty & makeup items to my favourites posts.

Signature

 

2 Comments

Leave a comment