Summer.

Hello summer & happy hello to November!

This week’s blog post brings you my favourite picks for this sunny and heated season ahead of us.

Summer is all about the glow, the tanned, bronzed skin. When I think of summer I think about wearing less make-up and simply glowing from a more natural approach and this pretty much coincides with the three products that I have picked out of my collection.

It covers both high end and affordable audiences.

IMG_4938

If you have not seen any of my previous seasonal post, please check out Spring & Winter!

Without further ado, here are my picks for SUMMER 2017!

  • Essence Cosmetics Matt Matt Matt Long Lasting Lipgloss – American Girl

IMG_4939

Finding a good, light weight and hydrating lip colour was a little tricky but when I saw this baby in the display, I couldn’t help taking a crack at it.

Right off the bat the first thing that hits you is the vanilla scent. The minute you open the tube, that’s what first got to me.

Then comes the creamy formula and the pigmented gloss. I wouldn’t go so far as to wear this as a gloss on top of a different lip product simply because it is so pigmented and creamy. It can feel a tad bit thick when applied on top of something else.

The only down fall to this is the applicator. With a certain pressure, I feel like I could break it. The broader shape makes it a little challenging to have a crisp, clean edge or cupids bow.

On to the colour, this particular shade is a cool toned brow. The perfect colour in my opinion that makes a statement all while looking glossy and alive. The Matt Mat Matt name, does not mean the formula is extremely mattifying. It is more of a satin, velvet finish.

The Matt Matt Matt collection is available from Dis-chem and Takealot.com.

  • The Balm Cosmetics The Manizer Sisters Palette

IMG_4963.JPG

After swatching the single Mary-Lou Manizer highlighter, I was completely sold. But before I grabbed it, I saw that there was actually a trio that hosted each of the highlighters in a palette. Mary-Lou, Cindy-Lou & Betty-Lou made up the palette.

The buttery, pigmented formula sold me so in my opinion it is definitely value for money. These can give both a subtle and bold highlight, depending on how they’re applied, and they are easily buildable.

I did purchase this palette overseas so when I found out that The Balm would be available in Stuttafords stores, I was stoked. The Balm is one of the brands that definitely do highlighters justice. I always come back to this palette and I think I always will.

The Manizer Sisters Palette is available from Stuttafords and at Muse Beauty.

  • Benefit Cosmetics Hoola Bronzer

IMG_4952.JPG

With brands like NYX, Urban Decay, Benefit and The Balm making their mark in South Africa, this shows just how the beauty community as a whole is expanding and South Africa is slowly making its mark in the community.

The first thing that attracted me to Benefit as a brand would be their marketing and their branding. Then came the highly recommended and review products. With just about every one of my favourite beauty guru’s using Hoola, I was quite adamant to give it a try myself.

When Benefit first launched, I went to Edgars to find out some more information. I fully tested out some products because I knew there was no way I could afford them right off the bat so that meant some saving had to happen.

Finally getting my hands on the Hoola bronzer, my first benefit purchase, I was beyond pleased.

Pigmented, buildable, blendable, the buttery texture and let’s not forget the super cute packaging.

For a good, overall bronzed and tanned appearance, this baby is my go to. I can see why it is so highly recommended and constantly raved about. I can definitely see myself repurchasing this product.

The Hoola bronzer is available from Edgars.

You can find my go-to summer glow & bronze tutorial here!

 

Happy Summer Beauties!

Signature

Leave a comment