6 things that make me happy?

Taking a seat in front of my note book with a pen in head, I thought about this week’s post thoroughly.

Happiness.

Happiness is something that we seem to take for granted. Busy, busy, busy people we are. I myself find that I can get so wrapped up in what I’m doing or planning that I seem to forget about everything and everyone around me.

But when I do eventually have some downtown, times where I am full on smiling and happy, I find that it is the simplest things that get me into that mood.

Listing the things that true and well make me happy was a little harder than I thought it would when I first thought about doing a post like this. But as a recollected my happy moods, I found that once again, it was simplicity that won. The simple things that I sometimes seem to take for granted.

ONE.

Having my family and friends on this list was just about a no-brainer. The company I have around me always seem to be so positive, funny and happy that it becomes so infectious. Just being in each other’s company is enough for me, having the presence of my family members and friends.

The thought alone brings a smile to my face.

c4159117c8354011ffaf69bc2a695038

TWO.

My pets. After a long day of meetings, lectures, errands, gym and whatever else dawns on my day, I tend to be in a grey mood. A grey mood is my way of describing myself when it’s not good or bad, it’s bleh, it’s grey. After a grey day, I will without fail have to go home, pull into my driveway and park my car.

The minute I open my door, I get this reassurance that there is some light at the end of the tunnel.

This is where I am greeted by four fluffy, happy and hyper huskies and that is just about enough to make my day about a thousand times better.

IMG_2307IMG_4238 IMG_4285

My dogs are always there. They’re always happy and loving. They always seem to know when I am in a grey mood because they seem to be extra affectionate.

I have had huskies all my life. There is just something about them, something so unique. There is a love like no other between a family and their dogs.

THREE.

Music to sooth the soul is a pretty standard notion for me. I don’t really have a particular genre that I love, I just seem enjoy music as a whole. My playlists could go from Sam Hunt, to The Script and all the way back to JP Cooper in an instant.

IMG_4348

It all allows me to get out of my head, away from everything during those times where I just want to shut my eyes, lay down and breathe.

I am the kind of person that actually has playlists for just about anything from relaxing in the bath, to cardio sessions at the gyms and even those throwback rock and roll moments.

What can I say, I just love the power of music.

FOUR.

A good read has the power to take you away from your reality. It has the power to take your mind to new places. This is one of the main reasons why I absolutely love reading.

I have those times where I could finish 3 novels in a week and others where I won’t read for months on end. It seems to be pretty much all or nothing.

It just seems to ease my mind and bring a smile to my face, even if the last few pages has me in an emotional state.

FIVE.

Being active, preferably in the gym, is a type of therapy that I gladly welcome almost four times a week.

Whether I am running and listening to music or cycling and catching up on a vlog, I feel like I slowly lift some weight off my shoulders and my mind. More often than none, I find that I am in a definite better mood post-gym, believe it or not.

Trust me when I say that I myself am rather shocked. I never used to find the appeal of a gym before I actually joined one.

Writing articles, compiling blog posts and even writing short stories is something that I got into

SIX.

Writing, writing and more writing.

img_2530.jpg

Blogs, short stories, articles or just brainstorming ideas, these are all mood relievers for me. I can sometimes even find myself smiling at my working, a master piece or at my rather disastrous attempt.

 

I have always had a love for writing and I guess that it turned into an outlet without me even noticing. It wasn’t until I found that I had notebooks just about anywhere with just about everything and anything written down.

I guess all those younger ‘dear diary’ dictations weren’t for nothing hey…

The basis of me sharing this short list is to encourage you. Keeping doing the things that you love, the things that make you happy, the things that make you smile.

Life is way, way, way too short to be stuck in a grey mood.

I know telling someone to simply be happy is easier said than done but I don’t really know how else to phrase it if I am being honest.

Start off this fresh, new week the in the best way that you know how.

Smile beauty!

Signature

Leave a comment