Top Three: L. A. Girl Cosmetics [+ Review]

Welcome to yet another week beauties! A new week means a fresh start and of course a new blog post!

Can I first share just how proud I am of myself and this blog! Thank you to you, you taking the time to read, like and even comment on my posts. You, my readers, are all appreciated and adored. Thank you so much!

This week’s post focuses more on a single brand. One brand posts are something that I have always wanted to do, it just took me a while to figure out how I wanted to go about it. Doing this, sharing my TOP THREE picks from one brand, with an added review, is my take on a one brand post. I hope you guys like it. These are products that I most definitely use in my routine so of course I am going to recommend them to you!

Without further ado!

  • L. A. Girl Pro Coverage HD Longwear Illuminating Foundation

SAM_2094.JPG

 

Price: R 175,00

Product Claim:

“PRO. coverage high-definition long wear illuminating liquid foundation is ideal for a flawless looking, full coverage finish. Lightweight formula is comfortable for all day wear. Paraben free formula with added anti-oxidants helps hydrate and improve the skin's appearance. Now available to extend the colour range even further, an innovative white foundation mixer to adjust and customize colour.”

Available in 16 shades.

Thoughts:

This foundation is probably one of the L. A. Girl products that I really wanted to try the minute it went up on the brands Instagram page. I have been pretty hit and miss when it came to drugstore foundations, I had yet to find my ultimate perfect match so I was pretty eager to give this a go.

Long story short? This is my current favourite drugstore/affordable foundation. For my combination skin, this is the most complimentary foundation. It gives the appearance of a fresh face (I would give this a miss if you do have oily skin). When it comes to coverage, it does give me a more medium coverage simply based on the fact that I have loads of freckles, some very dark freckles at that and I don’t really like covering them all. It is a buildable coverage so I am pretty sure that if you are a full coverage girl, you could definitely get the most out of this by building it up.

I could definitely see myself repurchasing this foundation.

Personal shades:

– Soft Honey

– Warm Beige

– Tan

 

  • L. A. Girl Pro Conceal HD Concealer

SAM_2079.JPG

 

Price: R 59,95

Product Claim:

“L.A. Girl's HD Pro Concealer is crease-resistant with opaque coverage in a creamy, yet lightweight texture. The long-wearing formula camouflages darkness under the eyes, redness and skin imperfections. Provides complete, natural-looking coverage, evens skin tone, covers dark circles and minimizes fine lines around the eyes”

Concealing, colour correcting and highlighting.

Available in 28 shades.

Thoughts:

You know the tag ‘YouTube made me buy it’? Yup, this was definitely one of those. In the beginning stages of my make-up experimentation and introduction, I noticed that loads and loads of my favourite bloggers and YouTubers raved about this product as being the best drugstore/affordable concealer so naturally, my curiosity peaked and the minute L. A. Girl made its debut in South Africa, be sure that I went out and got a couple to try.

I now see why this was such a highly recommend product. First things first, easy bendability, great for highlighting, colour correcting and it is so light-weight. The applicator was the first thing that intrigued me because I was like a brush instead of the usual doe foot applicator. Next was the wide range of shades and the different undertones. This allows you to both highlight, conceal, cover, contour and even bronze using these concealers.

In terms of how long these last, my regular concealing shade is Creamy Beige and I go through about four or more of these in a year. I do wear concealer for 3-4 days out of the week. This is doable for my student budget.

Personal shades:

– Creamy Beige (conceal under my eyes)

– Nude (cover spots and blemishes)

– Classic Ivory (highlight under the eyes)

 

L. A. Girl Strobe Lite Strobing Powder

Price: R 149,00

Product Claim:

“Strobe Lite Strobing Powder highlights your facial features by creating more depth and dimension where light usually hits. The soft and silky powder adds a fresh glow to highlight cheeks, brighten eyes, sculpt nose, and enhance pout. Strobe Lite can be applied alone or over makeup for a perfect glowing complexion. Powder is paraben and fragrance free and available in 12 shades”

Thoughts:

For one of my favourite product types, you did a pretty good job L. A. Girl. This is the first single highlighter that I have purchased (I tend to go more for palettes). This is more of a shimmer highlight with reflects in it so it gives for an opaque glow. When I first swatched it on my arm, it did seem to have an excess amount of powder or fall out if you will but once blended, the finish and appearance is to die for.

The wide shade range caters for just about everyone and even if you so end up purchasing the incorrect shade, they work great for both an inner corner highlight and a shimmer lid. My inner palette lover does however want to see this in a palette because the highlights in the blush palette are quite subtle in comparssion to the Strobe Lites.

Personal favourites:

– 90 watt

– 80 watt

What are some of your favourite products from L. A. Girl Cosmetics? Or what are some of your favourite brands? Be sure to leave a comment below. I love to read everyone’s opinions.

Thank you for reading and have a lovely week beauties!

Signature

 

Leave a comment